Chopped Kale Salad

I can honestly say that salad is one of my favorite foods. I don’t eat it simply to be healthy or when I feel it’s necessary to deprive myself of calories. Salad is not just a side dish or what I eat before dinner to fulfill my veg requirement. I eat salad because there are a million and one ways to make it delicious and, bonus, it happens to be good for you! There are also plenty of salads that defeat the whole “low in calories” myth that is spread across the salad board, so don’t kid yourself. Salads are not just for diets, and they are aren’t all wimpy, iceburg lettuce disappointments, either.

Kale is an incredibly hearty green. It holds its shape and stands up well to dressings which is why I love a good kale salad. They are even better after sitting in the fridge overnight with the kale marinating in whatever delicious dressing you’ve tossed in, so I always make a giant kale salad and eat the leftovers for lunch the next day. This heartiness can, however, make it difficult to eat when raw, so chopping it into tiny pieces is an excellent way to get around that.

Chopped Kale Salad via TheCheerfulKitchen

Since the flavor of kale is so distinct, I added some other flavorful ingredients that could hold their own while perfectly complimenting the kale taste. And I mixed it all together with a light, honey dijon dressing. This might not be the best way to break into the kale fad if you are wary of the flavor, but if you are already a kale fan, then you will love this simple and delicious kale salad. What are your favorite ways to eat kale?

Chopped Kale Salad via TheCheerful Kitchen

Chopped Kale Salad Heriloom Tomatoes via TheCheerfulKitchen*I’m going to start adding music recommendations and featuring songs at the ends of my posts, so scroll to the bottom to see what I think is great right now!

Ingredients //

1 bag of organic kale, or two bunches
6oz of baby heirloom tomatoes or one big handful
25 pitted kalamata olives

1/2 cup vegetable oil
1T dijon mustard
1/2T honey
4 splashes of rice wine vinegar (red wine vinegar works too)
1/4tsp pepper
*I don’t add any salt to the dressing because the olives are already so salty, but feel free to add a 1/2tsp if you want to

Recipe //

Wash and dry kale if you bought bunches. Chop the kale into tiny pieces and place in a large bowl. Halve the tomatoes and olives and toss in the bowl, too.

Whisk together all the ingredients for the dressing until it is emulsified. Taste and add more honey if you prefer.

Pour the dressing into the bowl and toss the salad well. Serve immediately or refrigerate overnight.

Value food and cheer and song

I recently downloaded a compilation album that had this song on it. It has become a new favorite for the message as well as the catchy rhythm and fun harmonies. I’m a sucker for an acoustic guitar and a positive outlook on life.

Artist // Jessica Campbell
Song // Be You

3 responses to “Chopped Kale Salad

  1. Pingback: Sesame Kale Salad | FamilyFreshCooking.com — Family Fresh Cooking·

Leave a Reply

